Distinguished Lectures

back Back to all Distinguished Lectures

Distinguished Lecture: Carbon Materials by Design

Start Date: April 8, 2014
End Date: April 8, 2014

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Klaus Müllen, Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Germany
Date: Tuesday, 8th April, 2014
Time: 10:30 - 11:30 am.
Location: Auditorium 0215 between Building 4 and 5, level 0

Light Refreshments will be served at 10:15 am
Abstract: Our approach toward graphenes relies on making polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) larger and larger. Three-dimensional (3D) dendritic oligo- and polyphenylene precursors are subjected to a cyclodehydrogenation leading to a flattening (graphitization) into disc structures. We introduce synthetic approaches to graphene nanoribbons GNRs with defined lengths (up to 600 nm) and widths (several nm). In comparison to classical solution polymer chemistry, we immobilized monomers and thermally produced diradicals on surfaces that underwent aryl-aryl coupling followed by cyclodehydrogenation to form GNRs. A remarkable characteristic is that the surface-bond precision syntheses of ultra-large objects can be monitored by scanning tunnelling microscopy. GNRs hold promise for replacing conventional conjugated polymers as active components in devices. Suitable alkyl substitution of nanographene molecules leads to the formation of defined supramolecular columns in discotic liquid crystalline phases.
phene materials and their molecularly defined derivatives will be shown to open new working principles, not only for digital electronics, but also for energy technologies such as battery cells, supercapacitors, and fuel cells.

Klaus Müllen joined the Max Planck Society in 1989 as one of the directors of the Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research. His PhD degree was granted by the University of Basel in 1972. He received his habilitation in 1977 at ETH, Zürich. In 1979 he became a Professor at the University of Cologne, and in 1983 at the Johannes-Gutenberg-University, Mainz. Since 1989 he has been director of the Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research.
In 1993 he was awarded the Max Planck Forschungspreis, in 1997 the Philip Morris Forschungspreis, in 2001 the Nozoe-Award, in 2002 the Kyoto University Foundation Award, in 2003 the Science Award of the “Stifterverband”, in 2006 the Belgian Polymer Award, in 2008 the Innovation Award, the Nikolaus August Otto Award and the Society of Polymer Science Japan International Award. He received many more honors since then (for example, 2011 ACS Award in Polymer Chemistry, Tsungming Tu Award, Taiwan; BASF-Award for Organic Electronics; Franco-German Award of the Sociéte Chimique de France; Adolf-von-Baeyer-Medal, GDCh) including honorary professorships from East China University of Science and Technology; the Institute of Chemistry, Beijing, Chinese Academy of Science; and the University of Heidelberg as well as Honorary Doctorate degrees from  University of Sofia, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and Jiatong University, Shanghai. From 2008-2009 he served as president of the German Chemical Society (GDCh). Since 2013 he is president of the German Association for the Advancement of Science and Medicine. He is member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, member of the North-Rhine-Westphalian Academy for Sciences and Art, and of the National Academy Leopoldina. In 2010 he received an Advanced ERC Grant for his work on nanographenes.
He is currently associate editor of the Journal of the American Chemical Society. His broad research interests range from the development of new polymer-forming reactions, including methods of organometallic chemistry, to the chemistry and physics of small molecules, graphenes, dendrimers and biosynthetic hybrids. His work further encompasses the formation of multi-dimensional polymers with complex shape-persistent architectures, nanocomposites, and molecular materials with liquid crystalline properties for electronic and optoelectronic devices. He published about 1500 papers.